Skip to content

Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Global Simulcast!

BBC Worldwide have confirmed that the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary special, The Day of the Doctor, will be broadcast simultaneously to millions of viewers worldwide in a global simulcast on 23rd November 2013.

Fans in at least 75 countries spanning six continents will be able to enjoy the special in 2D and 3D at the same time as the UK broadcast, with further countries expected to be confirmed in the next month. 3D coverage will be available to those with access to a 3D television set and BBC’s HD Red Button service. In addition to the simultaneous broadcast, hundreds of cinemas in the UK and across the world will be screening the hotly anticipated episode in full 3D, giving fans the opportunity to celebrate the truly momentous day for the iconic British television show. Ticket details will be announced in due course.

Doctor Who show runner Steven Moffat adds:

“The Doctor has always been a time traveller – now he’s travelling time zones. On the 23rd of November, it won’t be the bad guys conquering the Earth – everywhere it will be The Day of the Doctor!”

The 50th Anniversary special will be simultaneously broadcasted in the following countries:


Germany (Fox), Finland (YLE), Poland (BBC Entertainment), Russia (Karousel and NKS), UK (BBC One)

North America

USA (BBC America), Canada (Space)

Latin America (on BBC Entertainment and BBC HD)

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Africa (on BBC Entertainment)

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania & Zanzibar, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Australia (ABC)

Asia (on BBC Entertainment)
Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand.

[Source: Blogtor Who]