Skip to content

Doctor Who: 50th Anniversary Royal Mail Stamps Launched

The Royal Mail’s Doctor Who 50th anniversary stamps were launched on Tuesday, and a BBC press release reveals further details:

The stamps feature each of the Eleven Doctors – from William Hartnell, the first ever Doctor, to Matt Smith, the current Time Lord – depicting all the actors who have played the role on the BBC over the last five decades. The stamp designs see the face of each Doctor appearing out of the iconic swirling screen idents, made famous by the opening credits of the TV show. 

In addition to the 11 stamps featuring the Doctors, a five stamp miniature sheet will also be available. In the centre of the sheet is a stamp featuring the Doctor’s space and time travelling machine, the world famous Time and Relative Dimension in Space or the TARDIS as it is more commonly known. The remaining four stamps feature some of the Doctor’s most famous foes; a Dalek, a Cyberman, an Ood and a Weeping Angel.

Fourth, Fifth, Eighth and Eleventh Doctors Tom Baker, Peter Davison, Paul McGann and Matt Smith are seen posing with the stamps below:

The stamps are available now from the Royal Mail’s website.