Skip to content

Doctor Who: The Krotons Soundtrack Announced

Credit: Silva Screen

Silva Screen Records have announced their second soundtrack in their classic Doctor Who soundtrack range as The Krotons.

The soundtrack was created by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and Brian Hodgson, who had this to say:

“For this story I mainly used the “Crystal Palace”, so called because its case was made of clear Perspex which exposed its workings. This machine, created by our engineer Dave Young, could mechanically sample 16 inputs and combine them into a single output in 4 prearranged patterns. The progression of the patterns was deliberately slow to create textures of sound. I was very much interested in exploring changing aural textures in tracks such as “The Learning Hall” and “Kroton Theme”.”

The track listing for the soundtrack is as follows:

  1. Doctor Who (New Opening Theme, 1967)
  2. The Learning Hall
  3. Door Opens
  4. Entry Into The Machine
  5. TARDIS (New Landing)
  6. Wasteland Atmosphere
  7. Machine And City Theme
  8. Machine Exterior
  9. Panels Open
  10. Dispersal Unit
  11. Sting
  12. Selris’ House
  13. Machine Interior
  14. Snake Bleeps Low
  15. Silver Hose (The Snake)
  16. Snake Bleeps High
  17. Teaching Machine Hums
  18. Forcefield
  19. Burning Light
  20. Birth Of A Kroton
  21. Kroton Theme
  22. Kroton Dies
  23. Link – Rising Hum
  24. Kroton Dies – (Alternative)

The due release date for the soundtrack is 13th May 2013 on CD and download. It will also be released as a 10″ Vinyl disc on the 25th May, which will be limited edition.

We will hopefully acquire a review copy and will review the soundtrack shortly.

[Source: Doctor Who News]