Skip to content

Doctor Who: The Monster Collections Announced For DVD

BBC Worldwide have announced the release, details and covers of a brand new set of Doctor Who DVDs for the 50th anniversary. Entitled The Monster Collection, the series features six DVDs – one for each of Doctor Who‘s ‘greatest’ monsters.

The press release states:

These six real ‘hide behind the sofa’ collections bring together episodes of the scariest and most iconic monsters from Doctor Who’s classic and recent series. Each title concentrates on a deadly enemy – The Daleks, Cybermen, Sontarans, The Master, Davros and the Silurians – and features two separate stories from popular incarnations of the Doctor, including Matt Smith, David Tennant, Tom Baker and Jon Pertwee. These collections are perfect for younger viewers just discovering the scary delights of fifty years of Doctor Who.

The Monster Collection: The Daleks – includes The Daleks (1963) and Asylum of the Daleks (2012)

The Monster Collection: The Cybermen – includes The Tomb of the Cybermen (1967) and Rise of the Cybermen/The Age of Steel (2006)
The Monster Collection: The Sontarans – includes The Time Warrior (1973) and The Sontaran Stratagem/The Poison Sky (2008)
The Monster Collection: The Master – includes Terror of the Autons (1971) and The End of Time (2009-10)
The Monster Collection: Davros – includes Genesis of the Daleks (1975) and The Stolen Earth/Journey’s End (2008)
The Monster Collection: The Silurians – includes Doctor Who and the Silurians (1970) and The Hungry Earth/Cold Blood (2010)
All six DVDs have an RRP of £10.20, and will be released on 30th September 2013.
[Source: Blogtor Who]