Skip to content

Doctor Who Series 9 soundtrack confirmed for 2018

Silva Screen has confirmed that the soundtrack for the ninth series of Doctor Who will be released in early 2018.

The four-disc soundtrack will contain music from Peter Capaldi’s second series as the Doctor, which also saw the departure of Jenna Coleman as companion Clara Oswald.

The news was revealed via a tweet from Silva Screen’s official account, which alluded to the long wait fans have had for this album compared to previous releases:

Murray Gold‘s music for the majority of Series 9 will be released on two discs. The first disc will contain cues from The Magician’s Apprentice, The Witch’s Familiar, Under The Lake, Before The Flood, The Girl Who Died and The Woman Who Lived, whilst the second will include music from The Zygon Invasion, The Zygon Inversion, Sleep No More, Face The Raven and series finale Hell Bent.

Music from the standout episode of the ninth series, Heaven Sent – a single-hander featuring Peter Capaldi’s Twelfth Doctor – will feature on the set’s third disc, with the final disc containing music from the show’s 2015 Christmas special, The Husbands of River Song.

As with the Series 8 soundtrack release, the first run of soundtracks will include a booklet featuring designer Stuart Manning‘s retro posters for each episode in the series.

Silva Screen has not yet revealed a finalised release date or any pre-order information for the soundtrack – details of these will be announced by the company in due course.

[Source: Silva Screen]