Skip to content

Eighth Doctor returns to Big Finish in Doctor Who: Ravenous

Big Finish has announced a new series of audio adventures starring Eighth Doctor Paul McGann.

Doctor Who – Ravenous will follow on from the momentous events of Doom Coalition, and will see the Doctor joined by Liv Chenka (Nicola Walker) as they hunt for their lost friend Helen Sinclair (Hattie Morahan) and attempt to stop homicidal Time Lord the Eleven (Mark Bonnar).

Producer David Richardson says:

“Once again we have an over-arching storyline that will encompass four box sets of four stories each, but it’s somewhat looser in structure than Doom Coalition. There will be standalone stories that have nothing to do with the overall arc – but along the way we’ll be teasing and building to something bigger further down the line.” 

The first of four box sets, out in April 2018, will feature four brand new adventures for the Eighth Doctor:

1. Their Finest Hour by John Dorney

2. How to Make a Killing in Time Travel by John Dorney
3. World of Damnation by Matt Fitton
4. Sweet Salvation by Matt Fitton

This initial set of stories will see the Doctor cross multiple timelines and encounter familiar friends and foe alike, with Ian McNiece (Victory of the Daleks) once more reprising his Doctor Who role as Sir Winston Churchill and a return for the Kandyman, originally defeated by Seventh Doctor Sylvester McCoy in The Happiness Patrol.

Richardson says:

“I was really eager to bring back the Kandyman, but I thought that this time we could return to Graeme Curry’s original vision for the character. This Kandyman is a saccharine scientist in humanoid form – and you’ll discover the reason for the difference within the story. He’s played by Nicholas Rowe – whose recent work includes Da Vinci’s Demons and The Crown.”

The second box set of Doctor Who – Ravenous will follow in October 2018, with the third and fourth sets completing the Eighth Doctor’s latest saga in 2019.

Doctor Who – Ravenous is available to pre-order now from Big Finish; each box set is available to order individually whilst all four are able to be pre-purchased together as a bundle.

[Source: Big Finish]