Skip to content

Russell T Davies Illustrates New Collection Of Doctor Who Poetry

BBC Books has announced the forthcoming release of the very first official collection of Time Lord poetry, Doctor Who: Now We Are Six Hundred.

A gentle and humorous riff on A.A. Milne’s classic Now We Are Six, this is a collection of charming, funny and whimsical poems that celebrate the joys, sorrows and wonders of Time Lord life.

The collection has been illustrated by former Doctor Who executive producer Russell T Davies, who brought the show back in 2005 as well as creating spin-offs Torchwood and The Sarah Jane Adventures. The book marks his first role as an illustrator, using the comic artist skills he developed in his youth:

“I’ve been drawing for Doctor Who long before I was writing it, so it was like time-travel for me, voyaging back to that young scribbler who used to cover his school desk with Daleks!”

The collection of verse is the first from Doctor Who novelist James Goss, whose body of work includes three adaptations of Doctor Who stories from Douglas Adams – including the forthcoming The Krikkitmen – as well as several original novels for Doctor Who and its spin-offs Torchwood and Class:

“Russell’s beautiful illustrations make this the most charming Doctor Who book there’s ever been (and I’m including that magical first Doctor Who book you discovered as a child). The poems have been a delight to work on. Who could resist retelling the fiendish Daleks’ Masterplan in verse, or finding bizarre and ludicrous rhymes for monster names?”

Doctor Who: Now We Are Six Hundred will be released on September 14th 2017 – two weeks ahead of National Poetry Day on September 28th – and is available to pre-order now.

[Source: Doctor Who]