Skip to content

Who Will Return In The Bells of Saint John?


The BBC have revealed the full cast list for The Bells of Saint John, and it contains a returning character from a previous episode. If you’re staying spoiler-free, don’t look at what’s below! The cast list is as follows:

The Doctor – Matt Smith
Clara – Jenna-Louise Coleman
Miss Kizlet – Celia Imrie
Mahler – Robert Whitlock
Alexei- Dan Li
Nabile – Manpreet Bachu
Paul – Sean Knopp
The Abbott – James Greene
George – Geff Francis
Angie – Eve de Leon Allen
Artie Kassius – Carey Johnson
Little Girl – Danielle Eames
Barista – Fred Pearson
Waitress – Jade Anouka
Newsreader – Olivia Hill
Child Reading with Comic – Isabella Blake-Thomas
Man with Chips – Matthew Earley
Pilot – Antony Edridge
The Great Intelligence – Richard E Grant

As you can see, Richard E Grant, who played Doctor Simeon in The Snowmen, is listed as The Great Intelligence. Interestingly, he’s listed not as Doctor Simeon, but as The Great Intelligence, which was voiced by Ian McKellen – so what could be happening here? I’m personally guessing that Grant will be revealed in the episode’s closing seconds… but you never know.

However, this should be taken with the customary pinch of salt. The BBC cast lists often list recurring characters who aren’t actually in the episodes, so this could be just a mistake. We’ll just have to wait until 30th March to find out!